moogielight

musings on art, life and family from a crunchy mama

Yarn Along: Hats Galore!

Leave a comment

Joining Ginny for the Yarn Along.

20131218-193454.jpg

Two down, one to go. Aria’s hat was done shortly after last week’s post. Then I cast on for a hat I’ve wanted to knit for years, the Bulky Baby Hat. I didn’t actually have the pattern, but I did have the picture and the yarn, so I winged it. I love the result and can’t wait for Aurelia to wear it. (It’s possible that I tried it on her when she was sleeping and the process may have woken her, but since she’s only six months old I’m guessing the surprise isn’t totally ruined and besides, it was totally worth the awoken baby to see the cute). Pictures to come after the big day.

Last, but not least is Ani’s. I’m striving to knit a super-soft, not-at-all-scratchy hat that my very sensitive girl will actually wear. It’s all her favorite colors, knit in Spud & Chloe Sweater – which we’ve had luck with before – and I’m planning a sweet bit of duplicate stitch which I think she’ll love. So, we’ll see. I reeeaaallllyyy hope she likes it. If not, though, Aurelia will have a new hat in her hand-me-down collection.

I’ve been slowly getting back into the audiobook routine and am currently enjoying the Yarn Harlot’s At Knit’s End (narrated by the author herself). I love her dry humor.

Author: moogielight

I'm a stay-at-home homebirthing, VBACing, breastfeeding mama, advocate and sometimes artist, sometimes web designer. We are located on the East Coast (but long for the West Coast) where we try to live simply, playing with natural toys, eating organic, vegetarian foods and using our imaginations and creativity as much as possible. I knit and I'm in the process of learning to sew so I can make (or at least attempt to make) many of the items we need and use and want to surround us.

Leave a Reply

