Yarn Along: Stalled

I haven’t made much progress on my knitting of late. I am nearly at a stopping point with Aurelia’s Rainbow Blanket while I search for the perfect light yellow-green to come after the bright yellow that’s nearly done and before the bright grass green I already have. I’m using Dream in Color Classy and Neighborhood Fiber Company Studio Worsted for the blanket, but so far, I’m just not finding what I want in those two yarns. I may need to branch out for this one. Either way, a Christmas finish isn’t looking good. Luckily, she’s only 5 months old, so it won’t matter too much to her if it’s a few weeks late.

Then there’s the Bitty Booties. I’ve almost finished one bootie, but it requires seaming and that’s just not my favorite thing to do. So it sits and waits for the other to be completed so I can get it all done at once. I can’t start the other until I look up the provisional cast on again (I should remember it by now) and I haven’t had a chance to do that. Really, I haven’t had a chance to both look it up and cast on at the same time, so by the time I do cast on, my sleep-deprived brain has forgotten what I read only a short time before and I have to look it up again. Then I get interrupted and the cycle repeats itself. I have to look at this pattern quite frequently, too, which again is problematic with constant little voices clambering for attention and a near-complete lack of short-term memory. But, I think I can get those done by Christmas. Hopefully.

I really should just knit hats. It’s been advised before and they would really be the perfect, mindless knitting project I need right now and each of my girls does need one. They also knit up fast so I’d have that instant gratification (ok, not instant, but certainly more so than the months everything else seems to be taking) and I would at least have one handmade thing done by Christmas to put under the tree for each of my wee lasses. Yes, hats it is.

Leave a Reply

