moogielight

musings on art, life and family from a crunchy mama

Yarn Along: Progress

6 Comments

Joining Ginny for the Yarn Along.

Slow progress is being made on Aurelia’s Rainbow Blanket, but it’s progress nonetheless. I’m on the second stripe, the “O” in the “ROYGBIV” acronym, about 22 garter ridges in. Each of those ridges represents two rows knit, and each row completed represents several whole minutes where my hands were free to do something other than hold, dress, change, wash, or otherwise assist a little one; moments I was not drawing or writing on a chalkboard or in a notebook, where I was not pushing a stroller, driving to dance or co-op or the grocery store; moments where all my hands were compelled to do was hold some soft, cushy, gorgeously dyed wool and wrap it around a couple of needles. So, though it looks like just a very tiny bit of progress, it’s actually much, much more.

20130925-114708.jpg

Author: moogielight

I'm a stay-at-home homebirthing, VBACing, breastfeeding mama, advocate and sometimes artist, sometimes web designer. We are located on the East Coast (but long for the West Coast) where we try to live simply, playing with natural toys, eating organic, vegetarian foods and using our imaginations and creativity as much as possible. I knit and I'm in the process of learning to sew so I can make (or at least attempt to make) many of the items we need and use and want to surround us.

6 thoughts on “Yarn Along: Progress

  1. that is going to be a stunning blanket.

  2. So pretty!! I know what you mean – I have been watching my 5 month old nephew lately and I forgot how little time one has to do things.

  3. Love the colours! Coming from yarn along

  4. That is an EXCELLENT description of what knitting represents.

Leave a Reply

