Yarn Along: The Tip of a Rainbow

Joining Ginny for the Yarn Along.
20130814-162036.jpg

My knitting time is still minimal, but I did manage to complete a couple more rows recently on this Rainbow Baby Blanket for Aurelia. I’m hoping to complete it by Christmas; I started it shortly before she was born but as you can see, I didn’t get very far.

I did buy more yarn for it, which is almost like knitting, right? It’s at least preparing for future knitting, which is part of the process. Anyway, I didn’t get a chance to use a couple gift certificates before Aurelia arrived and after that everything was all hospital and moving, so it took a bit of finagling to connect with the now-far-away yarn shop when I was finally ready. I knew the type of yarn I wanted and approximate colors (with so many colors needed, I’m buying a bit at a time), so called the store to discuss the purchase and ask if they could hold it for me until Keith could stop by on one of his frequent trips to the area. A staff member there offered to send me pics of what they had and another clarified colors. When I decided what I wanted – on a different day – another staffer rang up my gift cards over the phone and offered to mail the yarn to me. He had to take my info twice, poor guy, because their computer crashed in between. I received it in just a couple days. Great people, those fibre spacers. Highly recommend their shop if you are ever in Northern Virginia. Also? Yarn is a wonderful, beautiful thing to receive in the mail.

Speaking of reasons to order yarn, with summer winding down we’ve been talking to neighbors about heating costs for winter (we, like many in the area, have oil heating) and are a bit astonished by the how high the seemingly average costs are. We have decided that lots of wool and knitted items are definitely in order if we want to keep heating costs down this winter. I’m thinking a scarves and gloves indoors kind of wardrobe, a la The Holiday. Seems the cost of nice, warm wool is going to be nothing compared to the cost of oil. An excuse to knit for hours on end? I’ll take it…and I just might get that baby blanket done while at it. After all, she’ll need it.

For inspiration, I’m currently listening to Stephanie Pearl-McPhee’s At Knit’s End: Meditation’s for Women Who Knit Too Much, read by the Yarn Harlot herself. I’m enjoying it.

2 thoughts on “Yarn Along: The Tip of a Rainbow

  1. You’ve probably thought of it already, but a hat at bedtime can be a great thing. Helen has slept in one on and off her whole life. We call it her “sleeping cap” and it helps keep her toasty warm at night.

Leave a Reply

