moogielight

musings on art, life and family from a crunchy mama

Yarn Along – Baby Knits

6 Comments

Joining Ginny for the Yarn Along…

20130102-152807.jpg

All while finishing up holiday projects, I kept fighting the desire to cast on for a baby knit…or ten. So, as soon as I was done with the last handmade gift, that is just what I did. My first was the Puerperium Cardigan, so called because it is designed for the baby’s puerperium period (the first 6 weeks post birth). As I’m expecting a summer babe, I knit mine out of cotton in a loose weave and with short sleeves. It came out breezy and drapey, but with enough substance to help keep away that chill that can come with air conditioning. Ravelry notes here.

Next up was the Little Heaume (or “helmet”), knit in the larger size and of a very soft, cushy wool, in the hopes it will fit during baby’s first winter. The pointy bits on the forehead and at the top are too cute for this mama to resist.
Ravelry notes here.

I should say, because I know some will wonder, that despite my choice of color, we do not know the sex of this little one, nor am I planning for one or the other. I have a “colors are for everyone” philosophy and find both the bright blue of the cardigan and the gray/purple of the hat to be equally appropriate for whatever we are blessed with. I plan to embellish the cardigan a bit and still need buttons, but that will have to wait for now. I have some ideas…

For Christmas, my mom gave me a gift to choose a couple books, so right now I am eagerly awaiting Principles of Knitting. It’s supposed to arrive next Monday, but I’m crossing my fingers that it’s early. In the meantime, Keith and I are perusing baby name books and sites, looking for the perfect possibilities for our little one.

What are you working on/reading right now?

Author: moogielight

I'm a stay-at-home homebirthing, VBACing, breastfeeding mama, advocate and sometimes artist, sometimes web designer. We are located on the East Coast (but long for the West Coast) where we try to live simply, playing with natural toys, eating organic, vegetarian foods and using our imaginations and creativity as much as possible. I knit and I'm in the process of learning to sew so I can make (or at least attempt to make) many of the items we need and use and want to surround us.

6 thoughts on “Yarn Along – Baby Knits

  1. Such sweet projects!

  2. You’ll love The Principles of Knitting. It’s like having a knitting teacher on call 24/7!

  3. I like the cardigan. Hope it works well for summer.

  4. oh my, such sweet little things. congrats on the baby that is coming. 🙂

  5. Love the baby knits! Historically, blue was a girl color and pink was a boy color since red would fade to pink. Your beautiful work will be fitting on whatever baby you are blessed with.

  6. Nothing is better than knitting for a baby. Those teeny-tiny outfits go together so quickly! Love the cardigan. It’s gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

