Yarn Along – Progress

Joining Ginny for the Yarn Along…

20120829-094714.jpg

The shawl is looking good. I’ve made significant progress since last week and I’m enjoying it loads more than I was then. I’m almost through the striped section and it seems like the look I was hoping for is taking shape. The stripes are more like ripples, the color fluid and without distinct boundaries. The rows are long at this point and I’m often only able to do one or two at a time during the day, but the progress is steady at night and hopefully by next week I’ll have a completed shawl.

Last night I stayed up into the wee hours listening to the end of State of Wonder by Ann Patchett. Bel Canto is perhaps the first audiobook I ever listened to and I still remember the images evoked by the beautiful and heartbreaking prose read to me while I worked in the back room of a bookstore in Indiana. Many years have passed and since that time I have been an avid reader of and/or listener to Patchett’s work and was excited to find State of Wonder on Audible. Neither the story nor the narration disappoints. I’ve been hooked this last week and have been listening as much as possible after the girls are in bed – audiobooks are great knitting companions – and find myself thinking about it often throughout the day. The prose is beautifully written, full of detail and emotion. The story is haunting and thought-provoking, powerful, the end at once infuriating and heartbreaking and thrilling. The narration by Hope Davis is spot on, her voice and rhythm reminiscent of Patchett’s own voice.

Leave a Reply

