moogielight

musings on art, life and family from a crunchy mama

Yarn Along – A First Shawl

4 Comments

Joining Ginny for the Yarn Along…

20120822-110208.jpg

This week I’m working on the Daybreak Shawl. It’s a first for me; I’ve never knitted a shawl before. So far, I’m not loving it. The pattern is a good one, it’s not that, and the yarns I’m using are gorgeous, though I’m not sure I love the colors I chose together; they are both multis and I thought the fact that they each had a bit of the same color woven in would make them go well together, but I think they may actually be too close. It’s hard to tell where one stops and another starts and the colors that match in the two seem to pool a bit. As this is supposed to be a striped shawl, that may be a problem. I’m continuing on, though, for the moment, with the hope that instead of distinct stripes it may look more like ripples of color that blend in and out of one another. We’ll see; hopefully I’ll be able to tell in a few more rows…

Really, though, I think my apathy with this project is a symptom of larger issues. I had a hard time figuring out what I wanted to knit this time around; I chose this pattern because I loved the yarn and was inspired by this and this. I’m not used to knitting with fingering weight, though, and have found it takes a lot more concentration than when I work with worsted or DK and that has been pretty uncomfortable for my eyes and hands and body as a whole, as I keep finding myself hunched over staring intently at tiny stitches. Keith’s also been traveling a lot this summer and the girls have not been sleeping well and the combination of the two is resulting in a pretty tired mama. A few hours to sleep in one morning or a night out to have coffee and knit without anyone yelling for me or climbing on me may well change how I feel about this project.

I’m not reading anything at the moment other than my newly-received copy of Living Crafts, which is lovely and inspiring and about the level of concentration I can handle at the moment.

Author: moogielight

I'm a stay-at-home homebirthing, VBACing, breastfeeding mama, advocate and sometimes artist, sometimes web designer. We are located on the East Coast (but long for the West Coast) where we try to live simply, playing with natural toys, eating organic, vegetarian foods and using our imaginations and creativity as much as possible. I knit and I'm in the process of learning to sew so I can make (or at least attempt to make) many of the items we need and use and want to surround us.

4 thoughts on “Yarn Along – A First Shawl

  1. Good luck with the shawl! From the photo the colours look lovely.

  2. Congrats on your first shawl and you might be surprise how it looks when it’s all finished … lovely yarn 🙂

    • Thank you for the encouragement. I finally got a bit of quiet time to work on it and made some decent progress on the stripes. I’m still not totally sure how it will turn out but I’m feeling better about it and getting into a bit of a groove.

Leave a Reply

