Yarn Along – Ravellenic Wrap Up

Joining Ginny for the Yarn Along:

The Ravellenic Games ended Sunday, in conjunction with this year’s summer Olympics. I only entered two events this year, choosing to  focus on overall time spent knitting rather than on numbers of finished objects, and I completed both of my knitting events well ahead of the closing ceremonies.

20120814-200141.jpg

Ani got her Milo. I tried to convince her to let me put elephants or owls on hers but she wanted flowers like her sister. She’s very big into imitating Aria right now and this was no exception. I had to promise Aria that next time she would get her own design, though, as the feeling of flattery that comes from being imitated doesn’t always outweigh the desire to be unique. Ravelry notes here.

20120814-200201.jpg
The second piece I knitted for the Games was this little hat, which will soon be gifted to a brand new wee one. Ravelry notes here.

20120814-200733.jpg
I enjoyed the Ravellenic Games this time around. It pushed me to get a couple pieces done in a relatively short amount of time and to make good use of the (copious amounts of) time I spent watching the Olympics. Giving myself fairly easy projects allowed me the freedom to work on them during the day while watching the girls and at night while watching the Olympics and sometimes while doing both, thereby completing my challenge to myself to spend more time knitting. We typically have a low-to-no-TV rule in our house for the girls but this was eased somewhat during the Olympics, particularly if the daytime broadcast (bedtime was NOT extended for the Games) was focused on a team of strong women. I think it’s important for my girls, Aria in particular right now, to see women using their bodies in ways that portray physical strength and power, rather than focus on beauty and perfect size as so many other images do. She’s made comments lately about certain things only being for girls or boys and I liked that she was seeing these women athletes in scenarios she doesn’t often see women in, powerful and strong in ways women on the billboards and magazines in the grocery store aisles never seem to be portrayed; I appreciated the conversation starter, the chance to point out these abilities in the female athletes to my girl. My favorite sport to watch these games was beach volleyball – where the women jump and dive and spike the balls hard onto the sand. Aria really got into the beach volleyball too, but was also very interested in swimming and women’s water polo and really, any sport with women participating (she really liked rooting for US teams, in particular); she wasn’t very interested in the men’s teams.

It was apparently the year for women in the Olympics, with women representing all countries participating for the first time, including the first Saudi Arabian woman participating and US women medaling more overall – and earning more Gold medals – than men. That’s something to be proud of, for sure.

On a completely different note, I finished and loved The Help and am anxious to get to the library this week to re-check out Growing a Farmer. I’m also on the hunt for another good audiobook. Any recommendations?

20120814-200301.jpg

3 thoughts on “Yarn Along – Ravellenic Wrap Up

  1. The Help was my favorite read of the year to date.. Congrats on finishing projects for the games…I didn’t enter but cheered from the sidelines. Bravo for focusing on various women’s body type..great teaching moment!

Leave a Reply

