Yarn Along – Not-in-Napa Scarf

I’m joining Ginny this week for the Yarn Along.

20120731-164531.jpg

20120731-164550.jpg

One week last winter, Keith went on a business trip to Napa. The girls and I couldn’t go, so I bought yarn; I’d been wanting to make a Noro Striped Scarf for a while and this seemed like the perfect opportunity to start one. Napa versus wool: not quite a fair trade, but close. I call it my Not-in-Napa Scarf and have decided that whenever Keith takes a big trip to some exotic locale or fancy-schmancy conference, I’m going to treat myself to a little something. It’s something to look forward to during an otherwise oft-challenging week. Wool is great because it’s fun for me but usually doubles as either clothing for one of the girls or a gift – either way, some sort of something we would be purchasing anyway.

Though a super simple pattern, the color changes of the Noro Kureyon keep it interesting. I could knit while also being present for the girls, so it was a great piece to work on when the littles needed me to be present and near their play but not actively engaged at all moments. I started it toward the end of winter, therefore I wasn’t in a big hurry to finish it (as it was getting to warm to wear), so could just work on it when I felt like it and put it down quickly when someone would need my attention, without worrying about losing my place.

The colors are not exactly what I was expecting – in fact, when looking closely some of them I really don’t like at all – but somehow it all works together and when I look at it as a whole, it’s much better than the sum of its parts. I’m really looking forward to wearing it (though I’m happy to wait a good long while for scarf weather to arrive).

Ravelry notes here.

20120731-164542.jpg

I’m continuing to listen to the audiobook for The Help. It is heart wrenching, hearing these characters describe the abuse and hate and discrimination and fear that was so commonplace in Mississippi – and much of the country – in those days. I often find myself near tears while listening and can only hope such a story won’t be warranted about our times.

Yarn Along

Leave a Reply

