moogielight

musings on art, life and family from a crunchy mama

Yarn Along – Aria’s Milo

12 Comments

I’m joining Ginny this week for the Yarn Along.

20120726-121828.jpg

Last week I whipped up this vest for Aria. I got a gift certificate to Stitch DC for my birthday and just before our trip to visit my mom bought enough Spud & Chloë Sweater to make each of the girls a Milo. I’ve wanted to make one for each of the girls for a while, thinking the thick, cozy vests would be great for layering during cooler weather. Once Ani’s Tiny Tea was done (minus the buttons, which I’d not yet found), I immediately cast on for Aria’s Milo (alternating to keep things fair) and found I could hardly put it down, so eager was I to see the final results. Hers includes my first attempt at fair isle – a ring of flowers around the bottom of the vest, created using this chart – which I’m pretty happy with. The vest looks awesome on her, with (very) bright colors and a near-perfect fit that is just loose enough to allow for a shirt underneath and just long enough to still fit after a growth spurt or two. Hopefully.

Aria loves it and is so excited to wear it I’m having a hard time convincing her to wait until the temps fall a bit before wearing it.

20120726-121748.jpg

Ravelry notes here.

I’m currently listening to The Help through Audible. I’m not very far into it but really enjoying it so far. It’s a well-done production with different narrators for each part that really bring each character to life. I never finished Growing a Farmer, though I want to; I got almost halfway through the book and it was (over)due to the library and I’d run out of renewals. I’m hoping to check it out again next week.

Author: moogielight

I'm a stay-at-home homebirthing, VBACing, breastfeeding mama, advocate and sometimes artist, sometimes web designer. We are located on the East Coast (but long for the West Coast) where we try to live simply, playing with natural toys, eating organic, vegetarian foods and using our imaginations and creativity as much as possible. I knit and I'm in the process of learning to sew so I can make (or at least attempt to make) many of the items we need and use and want to surround us.

12 thoughts on “Yarn Along – Aria’s Milo

  1. Those were the same colors I used to knit my daughter a tank top years ago. She wore it forever. Yours came out beautiful and your daughter looks absolutely adorable!

  2. love your milo….those colors are so yummy!!!

  3. loved the help! your fairisle is very nice! Great dress 🙂

  4. how adorable your daughter looks in her new knit, well done! the help was a favorite, it would be fun to listen to it.

  5. Love the colors! I’m so impressed Megan. I remember crocheting with my mom, but I can’t remember how old I was….can’t remember how to do it now. Maybe I should take that or knitting up! I do have a little girl to make pretty things for now, you know. 🙂

    • Thanks, Jen! I would highly recommend taking up some sort of fibre art.

      Check out Ravelry.com. There are super cute patterns for kids – girls AND boys. 🙂

  6. Pingback: Yarn Along – Ravellenic Wrap Up « moogielight

Leave a Reply

