A Sweater for Ani

20120726-121451.jpg

I’ve been on a bit of a knitting streak lately and have completed a few items for the girls and myself that will be very helpful come fall. Making some fall/winter clothing is on our Summer Bucket List and I’ve done enough knitting at this point that I feel I could mark that item off. I don’t, however, feel that I’ve made all that is needed, so at some point I must do some sewing too. I haven’t been inspired to do much of that lately, though; knitting is a lot easier for me to do with the girls around and child-free time has been almost nonexistent these last weeks. Plus the Ravellenic Games (more on this later) are starting this tomorrow, so I don’t see myself doing a lot of sewing in the next few weeks. For now, knitting it is.

Today I’m celebrating: Ani’s Tiny Tea Leaves is (finally) done! I started it months ago but stalled out for a while. Once I finally got around to it, though, it turned out beautifully. It’s a good size, big enough she can grow a bit into it but not so big she can’t wear it now/when it cools off. I made Ani’s version long-sleeved and, after several comments from Aria on a preference for a full button-up cardigan, as opposed to the buttons at the top only that hers has, put buttons all the way down the sweater. This turned out to be a wise choice as Ani is still in her button-loving phase where she will sit for longish periods and unbutton and rebutton whatever is available – our shirts, etc – and after I sewed them on this morning she spent a long while doing just that.

20120726-121345.jpg

The buttons are vintage; Aria and I sat on the floor of an antique/consignment store for a long while last Sunday, pouring over the many buttons in a large bowl, picking out our favorites and trying to find ten of the same buttons in just the right size and color for the sweater (not an easy task). They look like they could be handmade, probably from shell or bone, and are quite lovely.

20120726-121417.jpg

The yarn is a lovely superwash wool, Miss Babs Yowza – Whatta Skein!, in an eggplant (can’t find the wrapper so not sure of the exact colorway). Ravelry notes here.

20120726-121437.jpg

More tomorrow…

6 thoughts on “A Sweater for Ani

Leave a Reply

