moogielight

musings on art, life and family from a crunchy mama

:little things: grateful

2 Comments

* for the storm this evening and the cool air and comforting sounds it brought with it
* for the newest issue of Taproot awaiting me when I checked the mailbox this evening, bringing a much-needed boost to this tired mama
* that my three peeps are all on the road to recovery from whatever nastiness was gripping them last week
* that, so far, I’ve remained healthy and able to prevent the collapse of the household that is oft-inevitable when illness descends
* that all were well enough for a first-swim-of-the-season on Monday
* that this mama got to swim a few laps on her own that day, her body slowly remembering how good it feels to move powerfully through the water
* for the three months of pool weather ahead of us and the pool within walking distance
* for the plan to spend a LOT of time there this summer
* for my water-loving girls
* for my husband, encouraging me to take some time to swim alone this summer
* for these Double Coconut Muffins (I made the “piña colada” version, adding a cup of frozen pineapple, thawed and cut into small pieces. I also used more whole wheat flour than regular and used 1/4 cup honey in place of sugar. YUM. A little tropical paradise in every bite.)

Author: moogielight

I'm a stay-at-home homebirthing, VBACing, breastfeeding mama, advocate and sometimes artist, sometimes web designer. We are located on the East Coast (but long for the West Coast) where we try to live simply, playing with natural toys, eating organic, vegetarian foods and using our imaginations and creativity as much as possible. I knit and I'm in the process of learning to sew so I can make (or at least attempt to make) many of the items we need and use and want to surround us.

2 thoughts on “:little things: grateful

  1. We all love the water too. Such fun. 🙂

  2. Hey Meg, I saw that you had over 10 things to be thankful for, 10 good things! Glad you are enjoying the pool. I should have gone swimming myself tonight, but just couldn’t find the steam…..hope you all have a wonderful summer!!!

Leave a Reply

