moogielight

musings on art, life and family from a crunchy mama

A Little Something for Mama

4 Comments

20111004-111036.jpgEver since the Spring 2006 issue of Interweave Knits was released, I have wanted to knit the Streakers Shrug. I’ve come back to the pattern over and over, looking longingly at the fit, the intricate cuffs, the design that embraces variegations in the color of the wool. Then finally, last winter, after being told by my preschooler that I needed to make some things for myself for a change (this after a particularly intense flurry of gift knitting, including several items for her and her sister), I started it.

I used a gorgeous Manos del Uruguay yarn from my stash (that I don’t believe they make anymore), recently liberated from it’s short life as the Herringbone Poncho from Last Minute Knitted Gifts. Though I love the poncho pattern, the drape of this yarn just didn’t do it justice. The original pattern and many of the pretty ponchos on Ravelry were knitted up in less bulky and smoother yarns (I love this one, for instance) and it really makes a difference in the end product.  So I frogged it. All of it. It was done, blocked and all, and then in a flash (ok, not really a flash, per se, it did take a while to frog) back to balls of wool with so much potential. And so I knitted this up instead. It took a looong time to finish (wasn’t too motivated to knit during the hottest months) but the result is this lovely and much more flattering piece. My husband often teased me through this process how many different things I was going to make with the same yarn but I think the wool is finally at peace and I am thrilled to have something cozy and warm in time for the recent cool down. I’ve worn it a couple times now and love how it feels around my shoulders – comfy yet stylish.

Ravelry notes here.

Next up for me, a full sweater or cardigan…I’m thinking something Zimmerman-esque. Whatever ends up being the winning pattern is going to have to wait a bit, though, as there is so much sewing and knitting to do over the next couple months that adding something else to my lists of projects would be insane. So I’ll wait. Really, I will. I think.

What are your favorite sweater/cardigan patterns?

20110929-022857.jpg

20111004-111023.jpg

Author: moogielight

I'm a stay-at-home homebirthing, VBACing, breastfeeding mama, advocate and sometimes artist, sometimes web designer. We are located on the East Coast (but long for the West Coast) where we try to live simply, playing with natural toys, eating organic, vegetarian foods and using our imaginations and creativity as much as possible. I knit and I'm in the process of learning to sew so I can make (or at least attempt to make) many of the items we need and use and want to surround us.

4 thoughts on “A Little Something for Mama

  1. That’s gorgeous! You did an amazing job!!! I love the cuffs and the color is perfect on you. I’m glad you made something for yourself! You deserve it. 🙂

  2. Nice work on the shrug and I hope you’ll come back for more Manos on a future project…

Leave a Reply

