To the Nice Lady at Starbucks, Thank You.

“No, no, don’t you worry. I have two of my own. I’m not going anywhere.”

Those three short sentences and a “Have a good day” as you left, smiling, are all you said, our total interaction less than a minute long. Yet for this frazzled mama that was apologizing as I realized I was standing in the way of your coffee while I tried to put the cardboard sleeve on mine while wearing my 15-month-old and pushing my feverish preschooler in stroller, for this mama’s whose dear husband is traveling about 75% of the time and working long hours the other 25%, this mama who doesn’t really have a lot of local connections right now and feels a bit lonely, for this mama those words felt like a little hug. So thank you, dear lady, for your kindness. You made my day.

Leave a Reply

