moogielight

musings on art, life and family from a crunchy mama

Happy New Year!

Leave a comment

I’ve been knitting so much lately. Christmas gifts galore. I mean, really, I’m a knitting machine! Ok, so all the gifts were late. And there are a couple items I wanted to get done that I didn’t…In reality, I think I tried to do a bit too much considering I have a 7 month old baby. Somehow I thought I could do more knitting than last year (pre-baby). Silly. But the items I did finish turned out really well – a grey tweed scarf for my father-in-law, Roller Girl Legwarmers for my sis (she’s been wanting those for a couple years now) and mittens for 3 of Aria’s best friends. Oh, and I finally finished the Chevron scarf. It was on the needles for over a year, an eventful year no doubt, but still…that’s just sad.

Of course, I forgot to take pics of any but the scarf and the mittens. And I haven’t uploaded those to my computer yet…

The mittens are exciting for me b/c it’s the first pattern that I created myself. A simple one, to be sure, but a girl’s gotta start somewhere. I’ve altered patterns here and there – the Father-in-Law Scarf (a 5×5 dark grey rib with 3 black stripes on each end; total length of about 75ish inches) was an altered version of one I made my husband a couple years ago but these I came up with all on my own. I did do some research, looking for a pattern I liked, but I could never find exactly what I wanted. And so the Eastern Market Mittens were conceived. I’ll post the pattern soon.

Author: moogielight

I'm a stay-at-home homebirthing, VBACing, breastfeeding mama, advocate and sometimes artist, sometimes web designer. We are located on the East Coast (but long for the West Coast) where we try to live simply, playing with natural toys, eating organic, vegetarian foods and using our imaginations and creativity as much as possible. I knit and I'm in the process of learning to sew so I can make (or at least attempt to make) many of the items we need and use and want to surround us.

Leave a Reply

